Nitish Kumar

Nitish Kumar

Views: 17356

Category: Politics

Nitish Kumar Profile

  • Name:
  • Nitish Kumar
  • Born:
  • March 1, 1951

Nitish Kumar Biography

Nitish Kumar was born on 1st March 1951 at Bakhtiarpur district of Bihar. His parents are Shri Kaviraj Ram Lakhan Singh and Smt. Parameshwari Devi. His father was a freedom fighter. His nick name is Munna. In 1973, he married Manju Kumari Sinha. He finished his engineering at Bihar College of Engineering, Patna, Bihar. He was a popular Indian politician. In his early days, he was involved in the movement led by Jayaprakash Narayan between 1974 and 1977. He was very close to Satyendra Narayan Sinha.

In 1985, he was first elected to Bihar Legislative Assembly as an independent candidate. He became to President of the Yuva Lok Dal in 1987. He became the Secretary-General of the Janata Dal at Bihar in 1989. At the same year, he was also elected as a Member of Parliament in Lok Shaba.  He was re-elected to the Lok Sabha in 1991 and became the General Secretary of Janata Dal. He represented the Barh Parlimentary Constituency in Bihar in the Lok Sabha during the period of 1989 to 2004.

He served in the Union Cabinet as Minster for Railways and Minster for surface Transport and then as the Minister for Agriculture. As a Railway Minister, he was the first to introduce internet booking system and made great revolution like instant booking in Tatkal scheme. In 2000, he was appointed as the Chief Minister of Bihar but he was unable to prove his majority and so he had to resign in 7 days. Then again between 2001 and 2004 he served as a Union Cabinet Minister for Railways in NDA government of Atal Bihari Vajpayee.

Nitish Kumar led the National Democratic Alliance and won great victory in Bihar Assembly elections in November 2005. Then he became the Chief Minister of Bihar by removing 15 years rule of Lalu Prasad Yadav. Nitish Kumar and the former President Dr. Abdul Kalam initiated the Nalanda International University project headed by the Prime Minister of India. Again in 2010, he was elected as the Chief Minister of Bihar to continue his tenure for the second term. 

Published: N/A

Updated: August 16, 2011

Famous People: By Profession


Suggest S. P. Singh Baghel profile update

captcha image (Can't see? refresh)