Views: 12533

Category: Politics

Bangarappa Profile

  • Name:
  • Bangarappa
  • Born:
  • October 26, 1932

Bangarappa Biography

Bangarappa is an Indian politician who served as the former Chief Minister of Karnataka. He was elected from Shimoga constituency in the 14th Lok Sabha elections. He is a member of Janata Dal party at present. He founded Karnataka Vikas Party and Karnataka Congress Party. He served as the Chief Minister of Karnataka from 1990 – 92.

Bangarappa was born on 26th October 1932 in Shimoga district of Karnataka. His parents are Shri Kallappa and Kallamma. He married Shakuntala on 1st January 1958 and has two sons, Kumar Bangarappa and Madhu Bangarappa and three daughters. He got Bachelor of Arts degree and Bachelor of Law degree. He also obtained Diploma in Social Science.

He was first elected to Karnataka Legislative Assembly in 1967 and was a member of the Assembly till 1996. In 1977 he was appointed as the Minster of State, Home in Government of Karnataka. He became Cabinet Minister of P. W. D., in Government of Karnataka in 1978. From 1985 to 1987 he served as the Leader of Opposition in the Karnataka Legislative Assembly.

He served as the President of Pradesh Congress Committee from 1979 to 1980 and Minister of Revenue and Agriculture in 1980-81. He was the Minister of Agriculture and Horticulture in 1989-90. He was elected to 11th Lok Sabha in 1996 and to 13th Lok Sabha in 1999. He was again elected as a Bharatiya Janata Party candidate in 2003 to 14th Lok Sabha.

He resigned from Lok Sabha on 10th March 2005 and left BJP and joined Samajwadi Party. In the by-elections he was re-elected to Lok Sabha from Samajwadi party on 2nd June 2005. On 12th February 2009, he resigned from Lok Sabha and left Samajwadi Party to join the Congress. He lost in the 2009 General Parliamentary Elections to BS Raghavendra, son of B. S. Yediyurappa.

Published: N/A

Updated: August 16, 2011


Famous People: By Profession

Suggest Abhijit Mukherjee profile update

captcha image (Can't see? refresh)