Which Rulers Ruled Kerala Since Its Origin?


As per historians and early available records, the authenticated knowledge of first rulers of Kerala is available in the records of Sangha kala. Adi Chera Kings ruled Kerala in those days. First Chera Empire of Sangha kala and Second Chera empire of early 12th century ruled the small state and a few regions of Kerala. When Vasco da Gama reached Kerala in 1498 in search of spices and business relations, this small state consisted of tiny broken parts ruled by more than 40 kings. Venad, Kochi, Kozhikode and Kolathunadu were the prominent states in those days.


Thiruvithankur called Travancore – The kingdom of Travancore was established by ruler of Venad, Marthanda Varma in 1729. He conquered all small states of south Kerala from Kanya Kumari to Kochi and made it the vast Travancore. Chithira Thirunal Maharaja was the last ruler of Travancore. He lost his power after Indian independence and establishment of democracy system in India. His Divan C. P. Rama swamy, though was a good administrator was not popular among subjects. It gave rise to internal conflicts within Travancore and formation of State Congress in 1932. After independence, though attempts were made to retain Travancore as an independent state, those attempts failed.


Perumpadappu Swaroopam – Kochi state originated in the early 12th century after the fall of famous Kulashekhara Empire which came to be known by the name Perumpadappu Swaroopam. Kochi was first defeated by Portuguese and later by Dutch. During the time of Tipu Sultan, the state made friendship with East India Company. Indian national congress started in Kochi in 1920 following nationwide protests against British. In 1941, a political union called ‘Prajamandalam’ was born to intensify freedom struggle movement. In 1946, Prajamandalam came into power.


Zamorin and Malabar - Though Malabar – north Kerala was divided into numerous pieces, Zamorin of Kozhikode was most powerful among all. It came into existence in the 13th century and stayed there till British conquered Malabar in 1792. Many foreigners tried to monopoly Malabar and its main reason was ‘spices’. After Dutch and French, Haider Ali and Tipu Sultan conquered Malabar. When Tipu Sultan was defeated Malabar came under the control of British. In 1800, Malabar became a district of Madras Province. As British ruled the district, the freedom struggle movement strengthened here. Many leaders came forward with the idea of unified Kerala for Malayalam speaking people, a new state combining Malabar, Kochi and Travancore.   

Article Posted By : Sandhya RanilView All Articles

Kerala as an integrity owns some unique features

Article Source :


Keywords :
Rulers of Kerala , Travancore , Kochi Zamorin


Submit an Article

Related Articles