Types Of Eye Care Specialists


History has seen Healthcare changing its face over the centuries. From the ancient times, where ghosts and the evil eye were said to be responsible for disease, to the medieval ages where one doctor was the solution to all health problems… modern age saw the dawn of specialisation and then super specialisation.

Let’s consider eye care for example… Any trouble with the eye made you rush to the eye specialist. However today we live in an age where the internet has opened up a treasure trove of information. It makes us aware that there are various types of Ophthalmologists too. We hear of Cornea specialists and Retina specialists and wonder what the entire list of alphabets that they call degrees actually mean.

Who is an Ophthalmologist?

An Ophthalmologist, also called an eye specialist in lay terms, is an eye doctor who is trained to provide the full spectrum of eye care, from prescribing contact lenses and glasses to performing delicate eye surgery.

What do the degrees mean?

A doctor can become an Eye Specialist on pursuing his post-graduation (MS / MD/ DOMS / DNB) after his graduation (MBBS). MS Ophth. (Master of Surgery in Ophthalmology)and MD Ophth. (Doctor of Medicine in Ophthalmology) are post-graduation degrees while DOMS (Diploma in Ophthalmic Medicine and Surgery) and Diplomate of National Board (DNB) are post-graduation diplomas.

Who is a Super Specialist?

When a doctor says he is an Eye Super Specialist, it means that over and above a specialisation in Ophthalmology, the doctor has experience and training (called Fellowships) in a particular sub speciality – a part of the eye or age group or type of surgery. There are various Sub Specialties like:

  • Cataract: deals with complicated cataracts (clouding of the eye lens) and cataract surgeries
  • Cornea and External Diseases: deals with the outer parts of the eye viz. the cornea (clear dome shaped layer), conjunctiva (outermost transparent layer), sclera (white of the eye), eyelids and includes surgeries to correct refractive errors.
  • Squint and Pediatric Ophthalmology: deals with squint and a wide variety of disorders in children.
  • Vitreo-Retinal Diseases: deals with the diseases of the retina (photosensitive layer at the back of the eye) and the vitreous (jelly in the back of the eye).
  • Glaucoma: deals with glaucoma (damage to the optic nerve) and conditions associated with raised eye pressures.
  • Oculoplasty: deals with plastic surgery on and around the eye, eyelid and upper half of the face.
  • Neuro-Ophthalmology: deals with disorders affecting the optic nerve and nerve pathways

How would one know which Super Specialist to choose?

A solution to this problem is the mushrooming of Eye Hospitals which have multiple super specialists under one roof. This trend is soon catching up as opposed to single clinic practices. This enables the patients to find solutions for all their eye care problems under one umbrella without having to run from pillar to post.

Navi Mumbai is no different with a wide variety of eye specialists in Mumbai  Vashi, Sanpada, Panvel, Nerul and Kharghar. So the next time you need to have your eyes checked, do not blindly go the archaic ‘just any eye specialist’ way. Evolved Eye Care in today’s age offers you a choice of an eye care setup where you can obtain well qualified, experienced and wide range of eye care services. 

Article Posted By : advanced123lView All Articles

Advanced Eye Hospital and Institute (AEHI) is the most technologically progressive Eye hospital in Navi Mumbai. Our experienced team includes prominent ophthalmologists in eye care service areas like General Ophthalmology, Cornea & Refractive Surgery, Pediatric Ophthalmology, Vitreo-Ret

Article Source :


Keywords :
Eye specialist Mumbai , Laser eye surgery Mumbai , Eye specialist Vashi , Eye hospital Panvel , Eye specialist Panvel , Eye hospital India , Best eye hospital India


Submit an Article

Related Articles